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Question

In some situations, a boat does not break rule 31 by touching a mark. When a boat entitled to mark-
room has been given room to leave the mark on the required side but is compelled to touch it, has

mark-room been given?

Answer

No.
It is not seamanlike to compel a boat to touch a mark even if she does not break a rule by doing so.

This is irrespective of any additional requirements in the definition ‘mark-room’ in Appendices B, C
and F.

Q&As reflect the opinion of experienced race officials, they are not authoritative interpretations of the rules.
Q&As only address the specific question and not all of the factors a protest committee will need to consider in a hearing.
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